Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment … teach them well.

Teaching and learning is never a ‘one size fits all/most’ experience.  Teaching or teaching methods can occur in many situations and take many forms, it can occur in the tradition setting, rows of desks and the teacher filling the empty vessels (minds of the students), or, it can occur in a more investigative approach where the students seek knowledge/information through their chosen approach, researching,listening, talking, watching to answer a question.

Learning styles also vary, as this prompt asks, How do you learn? Each of us learn is different ways.  I am a visual learner mostly, sometimes I like a combination of hearing (Auditory) and seeing (Visual).  hear it), other times I like to touch and feel (kinesthetic), especially when learning to make gnocchi, pasta or breads.

The What in learning is also important, am I learning a second language, Am I learning to macrame?, Am I learning to drive a car? Am I learning to read … the what can also dictate what learning style works best.  How do we know it is the best? There are many Educational Theorists to tell us. Piaget, Vygotsky, Gardener, …

What is important and should be in a question, especially for parents, is what are learning styles and teaching methods being used in your local school?  I digress …

I have the luxury of being an adult and knowing how I learn, what is best approach and learning situation for me.

What I hope for is the next generation of learners are being taught well. D 34

This is my response to Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment.

This is how others like to learn …

  1. How do YOU learn? « Being Special
  2. Daily Post: Teachable Moment | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  3. Studying New Skills In Sign Language « DiaryCube
  4. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment | The Gozum Show
  5. If You Can Read About It – You Can Read | The Jittery Goat
  6. Learning time ! « Spunky Wayfarer
  7. DP: Teachable Moment « Life of Me and Mine
  8. Getting your hands dirty « Master Of Disaster
  9. Prestidigitation | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes.
  10. Teachable Moments « Q the Adult
  11. Learning to Learn. « ayimas
  12. Teachable Moment « Now Writing Every Day
  13. Teachable Moment | Liquid Matthew’s Development Blog
  14. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment | Rolbos ©
  15. Teachable Moment « The Tarot Alchemist
  16. How to learn something new | Angel Frouk
  17. Learning something new | The Nameless One
  18. The Best Teacher | Chasing The Bubble
  19. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment Is All About Hands On | My Blog
  21. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment | Hope* the happy hugger
  22. One Starving Activist
  23. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment « Talker Huge
  24. Mastering Learning | Shadoza: In My World
  25. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment 11th February 2013 « ittikorn1994
  26. OSCAR WILDE STARS IN A THRILLER | aapatawaran
  27. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment | Moonlight Reflections
  28. Bumpy Ride! | amateurxpress
  29. That’s How We Learn | cambios de humor
  30. A Martian Child « In My Sister’s Mind
  31. Learning to learn | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  32. Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment | Family Photos Food & Craft
  33. Teachable Moment: I’d rather do it myself… « Chasing Rabbit Holes
8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment … teach them well.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Teachable Moment – You need schooling son/sister, step into my office! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: How Will I Know? – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

