Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited … It was not the Brady Bunch

I watched the Brady Bunch, I didn’t have an Alice in the kitchen, only my Mum and on Saturdays my Dad made hamburgers…

I watched the Monkeys, fell in love with Davey while I sang and danced around the room …

I wanted to be a part of the Partridge Family, they were so cool, and their clothes …

I watched Bill and Ben (what? say my American viewers), they were Flowerpot men ….

I watched Romper Room (now I have lost you all completely – except the Aussies who remember) I drank the milk with the T.V studio guests, wishing I would be on the show. “Romper,  Stomper, Stomper, Do.  have you had fun at play?”,  I can see Jenny and David and …. I wished Miss Patricia would say my name.

I wanted my life to be like the imported Sit Coms from the States.

Alas, it wasn’t.  It was a typical Australian upbringing (60’s /70’s), Dad worked, Mum didn’t until I was in High School.  Then it was at my High School , talk about pressure to do well!, couldn’t escape when your mother was in the front office.

I played Netball, was a Brownie, then a Guide.

I left school at 18.  Went on a year Rotary Youth Exchange for 12 months.  Returned and started studying.

Childhood, it was what it was, loved every minute, would not change it for all the ‘tea in China’.  —

As a mother, I hope my children can write the same…

There are fireworks outside its Midnight in Sydney ~ reminding me its Happy Luna New Year, (especially to all the Water Snakes 🙂

This is my response to Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited.
These are the responses of others …

  1. Stop Child Abuse! « My thoughts, My life
  2. If I could turn back time… « Q the Adult
  3. Childhood Revisited | Ramblin’ On
  4. Back to the Future. « ayimas
  5. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « Family Photos Food & Craft
  6. I Ain’t Like Sinatra; I Had Regrets, More Than A Few | The Jittery Goat
  7. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited | The Evolving Dad
  8. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « Brad’s Blog
  9. Seesaws | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes.
  10. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited…I hate visiting. | ThesesLittlePieces
  11. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited | …and she writes
  12. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « Completely Disappear
  13. Daily Prompt: Childhood revisited « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  14. The Road Behind | The Nameless One
  15. Daily Post: Childhood Revisted | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  16. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « ღ Blank Doodles ღ
  17. Childhood Revisited. « I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  18. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  19. My Life As A Child – Daily Prompt | Misanthropic Muse
  20. Daily Prompt: Do-Over « One Starving Activist
  21. The Whistler | Honey Did you See that?
  22. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited | nevercryoverspilledmilk
  23. No Genie Available, But Make Your Wish Anyhow | Stuphblog
  24. found «
  25. Childhood Revisted (trigger warning) « Prayers and Promises
  26. The Early Years | In My Mother’s Mind
  27. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited — Dirty Memories | cancerinmythirties
  28. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « This Is My Corn
  29. To gaze at the sky, in wonderment | Purnimodo
  30. First name basis « theseeker
  31. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited | Waggingmytale’s Blog
  32. DP: Childhood Revisited/ Memories of mum moments / M, M, M. | motherofnine9
  33. Childhood Revisited: Forsaken | The Writing Culturist
  34. Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited « Edgledge’s Ramblings
24 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited … It was not the Brady Bunch

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Childhood Revisit Here | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Childhood Revisited – Let’s get inspired and also revisit food related disasters from our childhood! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

