Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread

Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread.

What do I think is the best thing …

This made ponder, what do I have and think has helped me since my Grandmother’s time, yes, she sliced her bread everyday. She was known as Mac for all her life even though she was baptised Clara MacLean.

For me it easier to answer by remembering what she had or didn’t have and comparing it with what I have or don’t have;

  1. She was the eldest of 8, and was sent to live with her Aunt, I grew up with only 2 other siblings with my parents
  2. She left school at 12 years and didn’t gain a further qualification, I went to school until the final year and have graduated from University with a Graduate Certificate, Bachelor and Masters degree.
  3. She married and was a stay at home mum, I married and have been in the workforce either full-time or part-time (due to childcare commitments)
  4. She washed with a machine with a ringer attached that had to be manually moved from on tub to the other, I have a automatic washing machine
  5. She only travelled by car,train or bus, I have a passport and have travelled beyond the borders of Australia
  6. She lived in one state, I have lived in 3 different countries
  7. She had a kerosine heater, which she moved from room to room, I have a 2 Gas heaters and ducted air conditioning.
  8. She baked in a fuel (wooden) stove attached to the garage, I bake indoors in an electric oven
  9. She had her own hand written cookbook and many other cookbooks that she used, I have the internet and blogs that I follow    ….. but I have some of her cookbooks, that I treasure

What do I think is better than sliced bread? the things that make my life a little easier, and also baking the recipes that I treasure from Clara Maclean’s cookbook.

Nan's Cookbooks

What do others thinks is the best …

  1. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread | Beefy’s House o’ Fun
  2. The Fried Eggs Blog
  3. Sliced Bread Diced Competition | Daily Promptness
  4. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  5. Q the Adult
  6. DP: Sliced Bread « Life of Me and Mine
  7. Sliced Bread | Tony’s Texts
  8. Daily Post: Sliced Bread | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  9. Redux | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes.
  10. Blessing and a Curse « Life With The Top Down
  11. Daily Prompt: Musical | Yeahthtsme
  12. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « Now Writing Every Day
  13. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « Hope* the happy hugger
  14. 1928 « Spunky Wayfarer
  15. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread – WHICH BREAD?? « The Ladyboy Mirror
  16. Of Sliced Bread and Instant Noodles | Drama Queen Under the Sun
  17. Best thing since sliced bread? | The Nameless One
  18. Self-Slicing Bread | Ichi Nichi Drawings
  19. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Sliced Bread < What? – A Whole Wheat Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur
  21. The best thing since sliced bread: “Candy”, the queen of my humble abode. | Multifarious meanderings
  22. Mother of necessity | cambios de humor
  23. Well, Of Course! | Sorta Ginger: Ramblings of a Quasi-Redhead
  24. You can slice your bread and eat it too | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer
  25. best thing since sliced bread – Google&Youtube « My thoughts, My life
  26. Cutting the Best Thing out the Sliced Bread Cliché | marvalously
  27. Dissecting Daily Dialogue: Little Guy, Big Thoughts | Wiley’s Wisdom
  28. What Am I Supposed to do With This? | Shadoza: In My World
  29. What’s the Best Things Since Sliced Bread? | youngemt95’s Blog
  30. The Gift | Rolbos ©
  31. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  32. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « Edgledge’s Ramblings
  33. It’s the best thing since….sliced bread! « A Blog for Laura Lee
  34. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread is Nothing Compared to Retirement | Honey Did you See that?
  35. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « Kim Corsoro
  36. DAILY PROMPT: SLICED BREAD « Words We Women Write
  37. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread | The Blogging Path
  38. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings
  39. Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread « That’s What She Said
  40. New post Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread 28/1/13 | Family Photos Food & Craft
  41. The greatest thing since sliced bread. | Zen Scribbles

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread

  1. Thanks for linking to my post.

    I’m developing washing machine envy! I live in an apartment that does not have laundry facilities. Going to the laundromat in the winter is not much fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

