Daily Prompt: Polite Company, a view from down under

Daily Prompt: Polite Company.

CartoonCartoon 2

Polite Conversation starts now:

~ I am an Australian Women, so my comments are from this perspective. Now lets have a polite conversation about Politics.

For those of you that are interest key facts about the types of Governments in Australia click here.

Said with a smile 🙂

~ Interestingly, Australia was one of the first countries to give women the vote, if a women was a land owner in South Australia they could vote in 1861, all women in Australia could vote in 1902.  Check out when women were allowed to vote in your location.

Said Proudly:

~ Australia’s system of government is founded in the liberal democratic tradition. Based on the values of religious tolerance, freedom of speech and association, and the rule of law, Australia’s institutions and practices of government reflect British and North American models. At the same time, they are uniquely Australian. For more information click here.

This part of the conversation could be quite lengthy (and need a comfy seat and a glass or two of your favourite beverage), so I will edit it with:

~ I have been actively involved in politics in some form or other all my adult life.  I have based all that I have done or will do on the philosophy of Margaret Mead, who inspired me by these words,

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

Now it is over to you ….

Ready for a polite conversation about religion?

Said as simply as I can:

~ I am in the process of becoming a Catholic through the RCIA process.  I have been attending our church since marrying and have raised my children as Catholics.

~ I am in the process of choosing a Saint, I have narrowed down two – St Claire and St Catherine of Alexandria, your prayers and suggestions welcome.

Now over to you …

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Polite Company, a view from down under

  1. Simply written and yet profound. Must be the guidance of the Holy Spirit giving you the boldness. As for being a female, I might reconsider moving to Australia. I just don’t if I can stand the heat tho’. Praying for you.

  2. And the women in Switzerland only got the vote in February 1971 and that was only countrywide. It took a time for it to get to the various local governments.. I remember it happening. Unbelievable isn’t it. Especially as it was up to the men to say “yes” when it was decided.

  3. Pingback: ARSENIC WORDS « hastywords

    • Thanks for the mention and adaptation, my mangoes are ripening nicely, they are starting to turn yellow. The temperatures in Sydney have be hot,hot,hot .. the mangoes love this! 🙂 D 34

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Polite Company « Dibbler Dabbler

Leave a Reply

