Daily Prompt: Mentor Me …to listen, to be positive …

Mentor(Source:Internet)

My life has been full of interesting, exciting, challenging, saddening, happy, uplifting, unique and catastrophic life experiences.

In the most challenging of these I was able to have an outstanding  boss.  I had tremendous respect for this person.  He was thoughtful, insightful and intelligent.  He also had the gift of communication.  The core of our business was community service, which lead to people and issue management, so this is the trait that I valued the most.

We did not have an ‘official mentor’ relationship.  In our interactions he would give freely advice on many topics.  What stood him apart was that he was a listener and would ask for your opinions as well.

He is no longer my boss.  The day he resigned, I closed my office door and wept, as I knew that I would no longer have his advice and assistance.

His advice and our conversations still resonate in my head as I deal with people and issues today.  For that I am most grateful.

This is my response to Daily Prompt: Mentor Me.

Read about other Mentors in these blogs…

  1. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | Only the Best | Loading…
  2. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | Musical Foodie Love
  3. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me Birdie, Poetry to ee « Lines by Linda
  4. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me « JUkk
  5. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me « A YoungEmt’s Blog
  6. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | cdvisions inspirations
  7. Mentor Me | The Nameless One
  8. Mr. Bales, Me, and The Sixth Grade | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Post: Mentor Me | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  10. From the impossible | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  11. Enlighten, Guide and Motivate | Misifusa’s Blog
  12. My guide… | Hope* the happy hugger
  13. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  14. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me – Vinay Sir | My.Vivid.Visions
  15. Daily Prompt: Lead, and I Follow « One Starving Activist
  16. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  17. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me « Talker Huge
  18. No Ordinary Teacher | Through the Peacock’s Eyes
  19. motherofnine9
  20. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | Basically Beyond Basic
  21. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me – waldina
  22. The nominees are: drum roll please… « theseeker
  23. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | A Journey to a Healthier Living
  24. Daily Prompt: Mentor Me | بيسان
  25. There’s always someone who knows more!! | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mentor Me …to listen, to be positive …

  1. Pingback: Mr. Bales, Me, and The Sixth Grade | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Mentors: The Freshmaker – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

